Awards and Achievements

Wilson College of Textiles Ph.D. students and alumni are consistently recognized for their scholarly achievements and research expertise advancing the textiles industry.

Provost’s Fellowships

2021-2022 Recipients

Wenna Han (TTM)

Sara Lewis Hood (TTM)

Ummay Mowshome Jahan (FPS)

Nur-Us-Shafa Mazumder (FPS)

Seonyoung Youn (FPS)

External Fellowship / Scholarship

Monica Deshpande (FPS) – Kanti and Hansa Jasani Family Textile Scholarship for fall 2020 and spring 2021.
Adviser: Dr. Martin King

Conference Awards

Hannah Dedmon (TE) (FPS) – was named a 2020 NC State College of Engineering Master Scholar of the Year and also earned the Excellence in Graduate Polymer Research Award from the American Chemical Society.
Adviser: Dr. Erica Ford and Dr. Melissa Pasquinelli

Hanna Lee (TTM) – ITAA Paper of Distinction Award – Consumer Behavior Track (2020).
Advisers: Dr. Yingjiao Xu and Dr. Anne Porterfield

Nasif Mahmood (FPS) – ITAA Paper of Distinction Award – Consumer Behavior Track (2020).
Advisor: Dr. Jessica Gluck

Zoӫ Rosenberg (FPS) – Best Poster Award at the Materials Research Society Fall 2020 Conference 
Advisor: Dr. Jesse Jur

Fan Zhang (FPS) – a Society for Biomaterials Tissue Engineering-Special Interest Group Student Abstract Award.
Adviser: Dr. Martin King

Student Competitions

Shahida Afrin (TTM) – top honors with teammates in the eighth annual Fashion Tech Hackathon at Kent State University (January 2020).
Advisor: Dr. Cynthia Istook

Mushfika Tasnim Mica (TTM) – semifinalist award at NASA HUNCH Project competition

Grants / Funding

Hanna Lee (TTM) – 2020 Ellen Rohde Women’s Leadership Initiative Professional Development Grant.
Advisers: Dr. Yingjiao Xu and Dr. Anne Porterfield

Ruksana Baby (FPS) – selected for the NC State NSF I-Corps program and a $3,000 travel fund.
Adviser: Dr. Kavita Mathur

Monica Deshpande (FPS) – AATCC Foundation Student Research Support Grant (2020)
Adviser: Dr. Martin King

Mushfika Tasnim Mica (TTM) – travel grant scholarship by World Congress for the design exhibition of a contemporary coat of 1920’s -“The Roaring Twenties” at the International Federation for Home Economics Conference.

Fan Zhang (FPS) – AATCC Foundation Student Research Support Grant.
Adviser: Dr. Martin King


Manik Chandra Biswas (FPS) -U.S. patent Appl. No. 63/132,626 for Melt Extrusion of Hemp-based Thermoplastics December 31, 2020 2. Procedure for Gel-spinning Lignin/Polyvinyl Alcohol Fibers Without Aging Bath (Patent Disclosure).
Advisor: Dr. Ericka Ford

Other Awards

Ritika Burman Ph.D. ’15, (TTM) – was honored with the inaugural Wilson College of Textiles Distinguished Young Alumni Award. Burman recently joined Amazon as program manager for social responsibility.
Adviser: Dr. Yingjiao Xu

Nasif Mahmood (FPS) – accepted into the NC State Comparative Medicine Institute Young Scholars Program.
Advisor: Dr. Jessica Gluck


Hamedi, H., Moradi, S., Hudson, S. M., & Tonelli, A. E. (2018). Chitosan based hydrogels and their applications for drug delivery in wound dressings: A review. Carbohydrate polymers199, 445-460. One of the most cited papers of the journal since 2017.         

Suh, T. C., Amanah, A. Y., & Gluck, J. M. (2020). Electrospun Scaffolds and Induced Pluripotent Stem Cell-Derived Cardiomyocytes for Cardiac Tissue Engineering Applications. Bioengineering7(3), 105.

Deshpande, M. V., West, A. J., Bernacki, S. H., Luan, K., & King, M. W. (2020). Poly (ε-Caprolactone) Resorbable Auxetic Designed Knitted Scaffolds for Craniofacial Skeletal Muscle Regeneration. Bioengineering7(4), 134.

Biswas, M. C., Chakraborty, S., Bhattacharjee, A., & Mohammed, Z. (2021). 4D Printing of Shape Memory Materials for Textiles: Mechanism, Mathematical Modeling, and Challenges. Advanced Functional Materials, 2100257.