Skip to main content

Chancellor Announces Dr. Ahmed El-Shafei as a University Faculty Scholar

Wilson College of Textiles exterior view

Dr. Ahmed El-Shafei, associate professor in the Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science (TECS) department at the Wilson College of Textiles has been named a 2015-16 University Faculty Scholar by Chancellor Randy Woodson. The recognition and reward program is part of the university’s strategic initiative to invest in and retain top faculty.

“Dr. El-Shafei is most deserving of this recognition. He is the consummate faculty member who excels in teaching, mentoring, research, service and engagement. He has demonstrated his ongoing commitment to student success as well as excellence in discovery and knowledge dissemination,” said interim dean David Hinks.

Year-after-year, El-Shafei has mentored and inspired teams of high school students interested in exploring dye chemistry in our Summer Textile Exploration Program while achieving the highest success in the classroom and formal laboratory instruction at the undergraduate and doctoral level. His research quality is advancing the field of functional dyes and consequently enhancing the reputation of his Department, the College and the University. He demonstrates this powerfully in providing the high impact factor for each of his 69 peer-reviewed papers, some of which are the highest in his field, which has resulted in him presenting his work via invitation dozens of times nationally and internationally. El-Shafei also gives a significant amount of time to service activities, whether departmental, college or university committee: assisting students in service projects, demonstrating his fascinating research during Open Houses and giving tours to visitors of all kinds. This is in addition to impressive service in professional societies.

“It is an honor and a privilege to have been selected by my colleagues as a 2016 University Faculty Scholar. The thought of receiving this designation for working with an amazing group of students, conducting research I truly enjoy doing, makes the selection even more rewarding. With this in mind, I would like to take this opportunity to thank my research group for helping make this prestigious honor possible. I hope that this recognition will encourage them to contribute even more to the success of our College and University. It certainly challenges me to mentor them well,” said El-Shafei.

El-Shafei earned his B.Sc. in Chemistry with honors and M.Sc. in organic chemistry both from Mansoura University, Egypt. He joined NC State in August 1998 and earned his co-major Ph.D. in chemistry and fiber and polymer science in December 2002.

Following his graduation from NC State, he worked as a postdoctoral research associate and research assistant professor on different projects that span molecular modeling, synthesis, and characterization of dyes and pigments; synthesis, characterization and applications of cationic bleach activators for cotton bleaching; molecular modeling and synthesis of functional dyes for photodynamic therapy; surface chemistry modifications of fibers using non-thermal high-density atmospheric plasma; and X-ray single crystal structure analysis of dyes and pigments.

El-Shafei worked as a teaching assistant and assistant lecturer from 1989 until 1997 and a lecturer from 2005-2006 in the Chemistry Department at Mansoura University, Egypt where he taught organic and polymer chemistry, photochemistry, dye synthesis, dyeing and finishing, physical organic chemistry, mechanism of organic reactions, organic reactions and orbital symmetry (pericyclic reactions).

Those eligible for to be named University Faculty Scholars include assistant professors who have been reappointed for a second term; associate professors; and full professors within the first three years of appointment at that rank. Nominees were evaluated based on evidence of their significant achievements in scholarship, teaching and/or service appropriate to their rank and discipline. Each faculty member will receive $10,000 in donated funds for each of the next five years to support their academic endeavors. Faculty members are nominated by their colleges and selected by a committee of senior faculty.

Previous winners from the Wilson College of Textiles include:

  • Renzo Shamey, professor of textile engineering, chemistry and science, 2014-15
  • Melissa Paquinelli, associate professor of textile engineering, chemistry and science, 2013-14
  • Xiangwu Zhang, professor of textile engineering, chemistry and science, 2012-13

For more on this year’s class of University Faculty Scholars, click here.