Skip to main content
Honors and Awards

Wilson College Research Shines in Three Minute Thesis Competition

The three student winners from the 3MT competition stand with university employees on either side in front of a screen with the 3MT logo.
Wilson College student Suh Hee Cook (second from right) won "People's Choice."

By Sarah Stone

Three Wilson College of Textiles graduate students were recognized for their ability to communicate complex research during this year’s Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition hosted by the NC State Graduate School

The competition, founded by the University of Queensland and held by universities across the globe, challenges graduate students to present and explain their research in three minutes or less. 40 master’s and doctoral students from across NC State submitted videos of their presentations to a committee that ultimately chose 10 finalists to compete. 

Ana Alves Musialak (M.S. Textiles) and Kowshik Saha (Ph.D. Textile Technology Management) both landed finalist spots at this year’s 3MT competition. Finalist Suh Hee Cook (Ph.D. Fiber and Polymer Science) also won the competition’s “People’s Choice” award. The honor, which is decided by the audience, comes with a $500 prize. 

Cook’s presentation, “Conductive Scaffolds to Mature Induced Pluripotent Stem Cell-Derived Cardiomyocites,” describes their ongoing research within Assistant Professor Jessica Gluck’s lab. 

Watch Cook’s 3MT presentation here:

Prior Wilson College 3MT finalists

Cook, Musialak and Saha are the newest generation in the Wilson College of Textiles’ legacy of success in this competition. Since NC State began hosting a 3MT in 2015, the college has provided 10 of its finalists, two people’s choice winners, one second place winner, and one first place winner.

  • 2021
    • Finalist: Mostakima Lubna
  • 2020
    • Finalist: SM Azizul Hoque
  • 2019
    • Finalist: Javier Jimenez
    • Finalist: Adhiraj Shinde
  • 2018
    • 1st Place Winner: Ciera Cipriani
    • 2nd Place Winner: Engy Shafik
  • 2017
    • People’s Choice Winner: Ashish Kapoor