Industry Advisory Board

Textile and Apparel, Technology and Management (TATM) – Industry Advisory Board (IAB)

The Board consists of global industry and government executives and on-campus meets two (2) times a year (fall, spring).

  • Connect with Students: interface with industry and government personnel to enhance student and faculty linkages (resources, information, opportunities).
  • Advise Educators: advise on program direction to strengthen and build program (undergraduate, graduate) offerings. This will include advice on educational programs, identification of education and research opportunities, and support and assistance with business model and funding of the Textile Management Sciences Lab.
  • Enhance visibility of the FTM Program: board representation includes global industry leaders throughout the supply chain (fiber ->consumer). Recent formation of additional Industry Advisory Networks, located in key global communities will complement the core board and its role.
  • Visionary Planning: planning for the program including educational and research experiences, TMSL laboratory, and other opportunities. Review the annual Department Strategic Plan, giving advice to the Department Head. Involved are sub-committees: Vision Membership, Textile Management Science Lab and Marketing.

Current IAB Members: 

Mark Messura, Board Chair/Vision, Senior Vice President, Global Product Supply Chain, Cotton Incorporated
Kyle Blakely, Director Materials and Development, Under Armor
Steve Ellington, President & COO, TriVantage, LLC
Claire Hider, Mohawk Industries
Amy Isenhour, VP Sales and Marketing, Meridian Specialty Yarn Group
Glenn F. Jackman, International Business Development Manager, NC Department of Commerce
Lynsey Jones, Senior Director, Carter’s Osh Kosh Operations, Western Hemisphere
Alexander Julian, President, Alexander Julian
Doris Lee, Vice President – Research and Development, Everest Textiles
Andy Long, Vice President of Sales, Parkdale Yarns
Daniel Montaño León, Studio Principal – Retail, Little Diversified Architectural Consulting
Sohan Mangaldas, Global Market Intelligence/Corporate Strategy, Unifi, Inc.
Larry Marshall, COO, Gitman Neckwear
Steve McSween, Vice President, Global Design-Men’s, Nautica
Ned Munroe, Chief Design Officer, Activewear, Hanesbrands, Inc.
Chris Pawlus, Senior Global Creative Director, Timberland (no longer with Timberland)
Nikki Player, Materials Sourcing – R&D, Everlane
Matt Priest, President, Footwear Distributors & Retailers of America
David Queen, Chief Operating Officer, Gerber Children’s Wear
Ellen Rohde, President, The ELR Group, LLC
Afaf Seyam, Head Designer, Ruyi Design & Manufacturing, Inc., & Founder of Heurueh